• SaskWater currently has no Precautionary Drinking Water Advisories on its systems.
  • Check out our new Conservation Spotlight highlighting remarkable initiatives in SaskWater customer communities!
  • Historical Information

    The full history of SaskWater goes back to 1966 when we began operations as the Saskatchewan Water Supply Board. The head office was relocated from Regina to Watrous in 1977, and in 1984 the Saskatchewan Water Corporation was created with its head office in Moose Jaw. In 2002, SaskWater received a new mandate to operate exclusively as a commercial water utility.

    Saskatchewan Water Supply Board

    SaskWater was originally given the direction to proceed with the development of the Saskatoon Southeast Water Supply system and the Saskatoon West Water Supply system. These systems were constructed to support a growing potash industry in the province and were fully operational by 1968. The Saskatchewan Water Supply Board operated in its original state with little to no expansion occurring until the mid-1970s when a potable water supply system was added north of Saskatoon that services Martensville, Warman, Dalmeny and Osler.

    Saskatchewan Water Corporation

    The provincial government formed the Saskatchewan Water Corporation on July 1, 1984, and it was quickly branded as SaskWater.  Guided the by The Water Corporation Act, SaskWater was charged with:

    ·         Protecting Saskatchewan's water and related land resources

    ·         Promoting economic and efficient distribution and conservation of water

    ·         Enhancing the quality and availability of water for domestic, agricultural, industrial and recreational users

    From 1984 through 2002, the Saskatchewan Water Corporation played a significant role in the water management for Saskatchewan. Significant emphasis was given to the development of sustainable water supplies for agriculture and industry and on economic development of water based industries.

    New potable water supply systems were constructed including the Buffalo Pound Potable Supply System, the Melfort Regional System, and the Wakaw Humboldt Regional System, the Gravelbourg Regional Water Supply system, the Edenwold Treatment Plant and the Pierceland Treatment Plant.


    In 2002, the provincial government developed a Drinking Water Strategy that drove changes throughout Saskatchewan. On October 1, 2002, The Saskatchewan Water Corporation Act, which governs the current existence of SaskWater, was proclaimed. The Act allows SaskWater to construct, acquire, manage or operate water and wastewater works and any other services in accordance with any agreements that it enters into pursuant to the Act. All provincial water resource management activities such as water licensing and source water protection were moved to the Saskatchewan Watershed Authority and/or the Ministry of Environment - now known as the Water Security Agency.